650/X-2 Onyx G1, Sponsored in part by Tom21

Vumad

Super Hero, with a cape!
This is a teaser of the X2 project I have been working on for the last several months. It has been partially sponsored by Tom21. I have spent the last several years working out this build, and 100+ hours over the last few months making it happen. Tom21 has been very supportive providing counsel and guidance for my work as I improve my composites skills, as well as reviewing my plans to make sure everything will function properly. I've done all the work myself by hand, with the exception of the Tom21 sponsons which were installed with his assistance. Tom21 is a great guy who wants to show his support for the X2 community.

This is by no means the final result. A lot more time and love will go into the boat before it is complete. It GPS'ed out at 50mph and got there in a hurry. I was water testing my trim and steering system, hood seal and other components.

I think I lost my crank yesterday. You can see the ski die and if you turn up the sound you can hear some horrible sounds. This is the original 1994 crank, which has been under water many times and sitting for over a year. It probably has 200 hours on it and 5 more since I started testing my hull. I still have good compression, the motor still runs and the plugs are black. I haven't had the motor apart yet but I'm guessing the crank was over due.

Also a thanks to Jack's Jet Ski rentals, Barney's of St. Pete and Fast Elements for their support.

Enjoy.

[video=facebook;10200902789040695]http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10200902789040695&set=vb.1494233296&type=2&theater[/video]

A lap around the track with what has been dubbed the "Onyx G1 Prototype". My Frankenstein creation sponsored in part by Tom21. Currently in testing of the new hull design.