How To: MSD Enhancer Install *Pics*

Waste Land

Non Multa Sed Multum
How To: Install A MSD Enhancer CDI Igition

step2lc6.jpg

This is my guide step by step to installing a MSD CDI enchancer. I'm not a trained mechanic, in fact I could be one of the stupidest people you've ever met, however my ski runs so we'll just play it off.

Start Up - Remove the Eletrical Box

You'll start by removing the 2 13mm nuts holding the ebox to the brackets. Then remove the 14 screws in the rear of the box. Make sure to put all spare screws/nuts/bolts into a spare baggy to keep easy track. Also unplugging the start and stop switch coming out of the ebox helps with moving it around.

Step 1 - Remove Old CDI/Clean Up

step1vq5.jpg

Go ahead and unhook every wire connection you see. Then remove the two screws holding in the stock CDI and remove it.

Note - While your box is a apart it wuold be a VERY GOOD chance to remove every piece from the box; clean and inspect all wires/parts inside. Keeping the side of your box corrison/salt free is a good thing. Clean all connections with contact cleaner and a wire brush/dremel setup

Step 2 - Installing Enhancer/Revlimiter

Pull out your enchancer put that into the original spot.
step5wd0.jpg

Note - Do not use the MSD provided bolts. They are barely in there by a thread or too. Go buy some matching ones that are longer from a local hareware store.

Heres a comparison pic
boltsri2.jpg

Note - I perfer to put the wires towards the outside so it doesnt get as much slack in the way when closing the box.

Revlimiter
With your box mounted and ready. Go ahead and get your limiter setup. You'll want to loosen the top nut gently so the screw can turn easily. Set your RPM to the desired limit and gently tighten the nut down. DO NOT over tighten.....they break.....I know from exprience:frown:

step3ay6.jpg

step4ho4.jpg