My first build 09" SXR

Well,
This year I decided to get rid of the rail caps, throw in some footholds, handle bars, get rid of the stock stickers and returf.

I order some WCF holds and am just awaiting them to arrive so I decided to get a head start. This is my first time doing anything of the sort so I will most likely be asking some stupid question along the way.

Good thing the X has a crap load of stuff to read.

I ripped off the rail caps. I figure they will come off at some point anyway. I plan on turfing over them.

I ripped out the turf and used some filler to smooth out the rail...So the turf job will be smooth when I get to that point.

I think Im gonna go with the snow camo turf.

I picked up some 105 West System epoxy resin with some 205 hardener.....Is this gonna work for the glass? I will end up punching rivits in the holds and glassing over them.

Anybody got any input or tips. I really understand now when people say you gotta be patient with this crap.

Attachments

• DSC03049.jpg
    DSC03049.jpg
    64.6 KB · Views: 192
  • DSC03063.jpg
    DSC03063.jpg
    44 KB · Views: 172
  • DSC03064.jpg
    DSC03064.jpg
    22.5 KB · Views: 190
  • DSC03066.jpg
    DSC03066.jpg
    31.9 KB · Views: 168
  • DSC03070.jpg
    DSC03070.jpg
    36.9 KB · Views: 196
  • DSC03071.jpg
    DSC03071.jpg
    31.3 KB · Views: 182
  • DSC03074.jpg
    DSC03074.jpg
    34.3 KB · Views: 165
Last edited:
OKay, so I got the WCF holds in and continued on. I am pretty much a foot hold virgin. Ive never seen them let alone put my feet in them to find out which ones would work for me the best.

Let me start by saying I love the feel of these! I think they will be great once on the water.

I figured I would share my process given from a noob's perspective.

Things took a bit longer than I expected now I just have to glass them in. I ordered the grooved snow camo today.

I attached a picture of how I made the template.