Confused about painting?

I feel kinda stupid asking this.

But I am wanting to paint the bottom of my hull and there are scratches everywhere. So if i paint it will there still be the scratch marks? Or do I have to fill them in? Or will I have to spray a bunch of coats, then sand it smooth?

Sorry for the complete newb painting questions. I'm learning:woot:

Zoo105.jpg

dirtnut99

Yardsale Master
I just painted mine this last week, well my friend did, but I did all the prep. He primed it with a good automotive primer for use on fiberglass. He builds street rods, so he has all the good stuff. It actually filled in 99% of the scraches/gouges. I DA'd it before painting it and it turned out pretty smooth. We could've gone another coat of primer after that, but what was the point? Its going to get scratched up again anyway. It looks good for the bottom... The topside will be all the work.

Last edited:

Waternut

Customizing addict
Primer can only fill so much. So anything more than light scratching will show. You can either fill them, sand them out, or clean them and paint away. Anyway you do it, the paint should cover everything with the same thickness. When I painted my last ski, I sanded pretty much everything out prior to painting but I didn't have anything really deep that would've compromised the strength of the hull.

Attachments

• 000_0724.jpg
    000_0724.jpg
    69.3 KB · Views: 36
  • 000_0727.jpg
    000_0727.jpg
    86.5 KB · Views: 44

dirtnut99

Yardsale Master
ya they are in now.. once I am done with painting I will get it turfed and post some pics for ya.. you get tom21's?? It will be 3 weeks probably now before I get to that point. I am heading to Idaho saturday for a week..

Oh and i scuffed the hull before priming so I didnt remove any unneccessary material..