engine trouble....rebuild carb??

Woody

Need to save my money!!
whats up everyone...

towards the end of last year...i started having some issues with my "other" ski...a 90 650sx. when i would go to plane off, i would have to lean forward on the tray to get the thing off on plane. it was slow to accelerate, and lost some top end (maybe 4-5 mph). no starting problems...no cavitation problems (other than the typical "650 slide" in turns lol).

i checked the compression....160 front 165 back (on completely stock 650)...so i figured that was pretty good. I popped off the carb and found the choke had totally been rusted...however the rest of the carb looked good.

i started taking it apart and took some pictures. keep in mind i'm new to the mechanics of a carb...so if i had to rebuild it I probably could...however I don't know what a carb that needs to be rebuilt looks like.

anyhow...here are my questions:
1. do you think it is could be the carb causing me these problems?
2. should i just buy a new carb for this thing with all the rust on the choke? there doesnt seem to be any other damage to the carb besides the rust
3. should i take off the pump to make sure nothing is cracked? the prop didnt look too bad while looking through the ski...there may be some damage to the pump shoe or something else in there.
4. is $50 a fair price for a carb rebuid kit and external fuel pump rebuild kit?

thanks!
woody

Attachments

• 0321091645.jpg
    0321091645.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 26
  • 0321091645a.jpg
    0321091645a.jpg
    61.5 KB · Views: 22
  • 0321091646.jpg
    0321091646.jpg
    67.8 KB · Views: 28
  • 0321091649.jpg
    0321091649.jpg
    63.6 KB · Views: 32
  • 0321091650.jpg
    0321091650.jpg
    71.6 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:

Rockstar

Dicksmacker