Tips for bigger riders?

I just got back into jetskiing after about a 6 year hiatus, and bought my first superjet (used) this past June.

Being in Tampa, it was easy to become wrapped up (nay..addicted) to the freeride craze and I have been pursuing that style of riding for a few months.

Like many I suppose, I convinced myself early on that power was the ticket. I've done full B-pipe mods, head, carbs, ignition, some pump work, and aftermarket pole, lowered hood, and of course footholds.

I know practice is everything, and after Daytona this year, have convinced myself that I need to really work on my finesse, techinique and skill. I've been blessed by having to have been able to hook up with some of the best (Pat Bogart and the X-metal/X-Scream gang....well, I just don't have the words!!) riders and learn a great deal. However at 6'4" and and around 215 pounds, I'm asking alot of my ski.

I've become pretty accustomed to riding with both feet in the back of the tray, and feet buried in the holds, but don't seem to be nearly as comfortable as I watch other riders. I'm looking for a few tips and techniques from bigger riders that may help me accelerate my learning curve a bit.

I should have mentioned that I have a -4 pole setup, with shorty quick steer turnplate and modified nozzle. I'm currently riding an extended carbon fiber D-cut ride plate (WCF) and finally just put a Worx 205 intake on it.

I know this is probably a wide open question, but any help would be appreciated. Thanks all!! What an awesome sport!

Big Kahuna

Administrator
since your close to X Scream, look into getting some porting done, you already have the basics on your ski... practice....... also, do not stiffen up when you ride, relax, that is one of the biggest things, just relax and have fun.

WaveDemon

Not Dead - Notable Member
I weight as much as you (and live in tampa), get out of your holds more. I only get locked into my holds when I'm about to attempt a trick that requires them.