98 951cc engine swap to rickter FS3

Hey guys I’m new to this stand up world, and I have a few questions for the guys who have done engine swaps before.
So basically I want to put a 1998 GSX 951cc engine into a 2013 Rickter FS3 hull. Does anyone have any tips and how hard would this be to do? Can I use the same pump and everything or no? Thanks

Not a Yamaha based ski but this is the same idea of what you are trying to do so worth a read... http://www.x-h2o.com/index.php?threads/a-true-homebuilt-b-o-b.166610/

I don't see it fitting easily and they are motors that are known to ingest water and grenade with the carbs being so low...I dont see why you would want to do this but if you have the motor, fab skills and alot of time than go for it and make sure to document the build. Always a first for everything. Just much better cost efficient, and lighter, with plenty of power options in my opnion that just drop in sticking with a Yamaha setup.

MarkWalker

Site Supporter
Anything is possible. If I remember right, FS3 hulls were set up for Polaris? I can see couplers being an issue. Exhaust may be an issue. Seems like a ton of work for very little reward.

Yami-Rider

TigerCraft FV-PRO
Anything is possible, more work then it's worth, plus 951 are troubled engines. Would probably be a real tight fit, with the massive pipe and the engine laying over like they do.

Use the same pump?.. If your talking about the seadoo pump, the answer is no.

Big Kahuna

Administrator
Biggest issue is the pipe. When the GP Class rules came out @jetskicrazy installed a 951 in his SN SJ. I cannot remember if he had to modify the hood and/or side of the hull for clearance. That could be an issue. Also the carbs are basically side draft carbs, Could easily suck in water. Next is those are heavy motors. That adding alot of weight to an FS hull which has a lighter layup schedule.......... But hey, go for it.